Back to school… again, and the female chemist

I’ve started a new analytical chemistry/ mass spec graduate course and was really surprised to find that two of the five professors for this course are female chemists and almost HALF of my class consists of female graduate students in chemistry!! This is pretty amazing considering only about 18% of tenure track faculty positions in chemistry are held by women. Part of the reason I’m so surprised is, according to the National Center for Educational Statistics, women make up approximately 49% of BS, 47% of MS, and 39% of PhD graduates.

I’m not so sure I’m excited about being in school again. I forgot how much work even a single class is, much less a graduate course, but I’m also very excited to move my career forward and expand my skill set.

 

Leave a Reply

