Why I’d rather pretend April didn’t happen

This has been a very rough month for me. As most of you know, I’m an analytical chemist and work with small molecules related to metabolism. I’ve been having problems with my mass spec this month and it’s required the company come in to replace some parts, meaning I lost quite a bit of time on an already tight schedule.

This combined with a massive turnover in management and our complete portfolio so far as potential targets means I’m starting a ton of projects from scratch with little or no time to actually do so.

In summary : STRESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Basically everything in my life has taken a hit because of the crazy hours I’m putting in at the moment. Reading crawled to an almost standstill, no new blog posts, laundry has been done at 4:30AM because it’s the only time I’ve had free and I’ve pretty much stopped running.

The only thing that has remained unaffected is pretty much my Border Collie’s schedule… She’s still getting her walks and kibble is served on time, so she’s having a pretty good month.

On the plus side, I’ve been given a few days off because of all the overtime the last several weeks, and Dr Hops and I are planning a little trip tomorrow.

Here’s to May, which has to be better than April!

4 thoughts on “Why I’d rather pretend April didn’t happen

    1. Thanks! The trip was great, and the town we went to ended up having four bookstores, a bookstore combined with a microbrew and cider cafe, and a library themed resturant. It was really nice to get away!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That sounds so great, glad you could take a break 🙂 The bookstores sound great and that restaurant seems especially lovely! Hope things are going well for you now that you’re back!

        Like

Leave a Reply

