Hugo Award Reading List

The following is a reading list populated from the winners of the Hugo Award for best novel in science fiction (speculative fiction) or fantasy. Books I have completed will have the year in red and be bolded, those I recommend will be followed by a star (*).

2015: The Three-body Problem bt Cixin Liu
2014: Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie*
2013: Redshirts by John Scalzi
2012: Among Others by Jo Walton
2011: Blackout / All Clear by Connie Willis
2010: The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi*; and The City and The City by China Mieville
2009: The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
2008: The Yiddish Policemen’s Union by Michael Chabon
2007: Rainbows End by Vernor Vinge
2006: Spin by Charles Wilson
2005: Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke
2004: Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujold
2003: Hominids by Robert J Sawyer
2002: American Gods by Neil Gaiman
2001: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling*
2000: A Deepness in the Sky by Vernor Vinge
1999: To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis
1998: Forever Peace by Joe Haldeman
1997: Blue Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson
1996: The Diamond Age by Neal Stephenson
1995: Mirror Dance by Lois McMaster Bujold
1994: Green Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson
1993: Doomsday Book by Connie Willis
1992: Barrayar by Lois McMaster Bujold
1991: The Vor Game by Lois McMaster Bujold
1990: Hyperion by Dan Simmons*
1989: Cyteen by C.J. Cherryh
1988: The Uplift War by David Brin
1987: The Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card*
1986: Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card*
1985: Neuromancer by William Gibson
1984: Startide Rising by David Brin
1983: Foundation’s Edge by Isaac Asimov
1982: Below Station by C.J. Cherryh
1981: The Snow Queen by Joan D Vinge
1980: The Fountains of Paradise by Arthur C Clarke
1979: Dreamsnake by Vonda N McIntyre
1978: Gateway by Frederik Pohl*
1977: Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang by Kate Wilhelm
1976: The Forever War by Joe Haldeman*
1975: The Dispossessed by Ursula Le Guin*
1974: Rendezvous With Rama by Arthur C Clarke*
1973: The Gods Themselves by Isaac Asimov
1972: To Your Scattered Bodies Go by Philip J Farmer
1971: Ringworld by Larry Niven
1970: The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula Le Guin*
1969: Stand on Zanzibar by John Brunner
1968: Lord of Light by Roger Zelazny
1967: The Moon Is A Harsh Mistress by Robert Heinlein
1966: Dune by Frank Herbert*; And Call Me Conrad (AKA This Immortal by Roger Zelazny
1965: The Wanderer by Fritz Leiber
1964: Here Gather the Stars (AKA Way Station) by Clifford D Simak
1963: The Man in the High Castle by Philip K Dick*
1962: Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert Heinlein
1961: A Canticle for Leibowitz by Walter M Miller Jr
1960: Starship Troopers by Robert Heinlein
1959: A Case of Conscience by James Blish
1958: The Big Time by Fritz Leiber
1957: No Award Given
1956: Double Star by Robert Heinlein
1955: They’d Rather Be Right (AKA The Forever Machine) by Mark Clifton and Frank Riley
1954: Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury (Retro)*
1953: The Demolished Man by Alfred Bester
1951: Farmer in the Sky by Robert Heinlein (Retro) 
1946: The Mule by Isaac Asimov (Retro) 


This award is moderated by the World Science Fiction Society.