Nebula Award Reading List

The following is a reading list populated from the winners of the Nebula Award for best novel in science fiction (speculative fiction) or fantasy. Books I have completed will have the year in red and be bolded, those I recommend will be followed by a star (*).

2015: Annihilation (Southern Reach #1) by Jeff VanderMeer
2014: Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie
2012: Among Others by Jo Walton
2011: Blackout/ All Clear by Connie Willis
2010: The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi
2009: Powers by Ursula Le Quin
2008: The Yiddish Policemen’s Union by Michael Chabon
2007: Seeker by Jack McDevitt
2006: Camouflage by Joe Haldeman
2005: Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujold
2004: The Speed of Dark by Elisabeth Moon
2003: American Gods by Neil Gaiman
2002: The Quantum Rose by Catherine Asaro
2001: Darwin’s Radio by Greg Bear
2000: Parable of the Talents by Octavia E Butler
1999: Forever Peace by Joe Haldeman
1998: The Moon and the Sun by Vonda N McIntyre
1997: Slow River by Nicola Griffith
1996: The Terminal Experiment by Robert J Sawyer
1995: Moving Mars by Greg Bear
1994: Red Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson*
1993: Doomsday Book by Connie Willis
1992: Stations of the Tide by Michael Swanwick
1991: Tehanu: The Last Book of Earthsea by Ursula Le Quin
1990: The Healer’s War by Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
1989: Falling Free by Lois McMaster Bujold
1988: The Falling Woman by Pat Murphy
1987: Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card*
1986: Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
1985: Neuromancer by William Gibson
1984: Startide Rising by David Brin
1983: No Enemy But Time by Michael Bishop
1982: The Claw of the Conciliator by Gene Wolfe
1981: Timescape by Gregory Benford
1980: The Fountains of Paradise by Arthur C Clarke
1979: Dreamsnake by Vonda N McIntyre
1978: Gateway by Frederik Pohl
1977: Man Plus by Frederik Pohl
1976: The Forever War by Joe Halderman
1975: The Dispossessed by Ursula Le Guin
1974: Rendezvous With Rama by Arthur C Clarke
1973: The Gods Themselves by Isaac Asimov
1972: A Time of Changes by Robert Silverberg
1971: Ringworld by Larry Niven
1970: The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula Le Guin
1969: Rite of Passage by Alexei Panshin
1968: The Einstein Intersection by Samuel R Delany
1967: Babel-17 by Samuel Delany and Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes
1966: Dune by Frank Herbert

This award is moderated by the Science Fiction Writers of America.